Agenda for Annual Council Wednesday, 8th May, 2024, 6.00 pm

Members of Annual Council

Councillors: C Fitzgerald, D Mackinder, T Olive, S Smith, S Westerman, P Fernley, R Jefferies, J Heath, M Martin, H Riddell, I Barlow, S Richards, M Goodman, Y Levine, C Nicholas, D Haggerty, B Collins, A Toye, D Wilson, C Burhop, B Bailey, A Hall, J O'Leary, M Hall, V Bonetta, A Bruce, J Brown, R Collins, J Kemp, S Jackson, S Chamberlain, P Arnott, K Blakey, N Hookway, O Davey, J Whibley, T McCollum, V Johns, D Ledger, J Loudoun, J Bailey, P Hayward, K Bloxham, S Hawkins, E Wragg, G Jung, C Brown, M Chapman, I Chubb, P Faithfull, S Gazzard, M Hartnell, M Howe, B Ingham, H Parr, M Rixson, E Rylance and S Hughes



East Devon District Council Blackdown House Border Road Heathpark Industrial Estate Honiton EX14 1EJ

DX 48808 HONITON

Tel: 01404 515616

www.eastdevon.gov.uk

Venue: Council Chamber, Blackdown House, Honiton

Contact: Andrew Melhuish;

andrew.melhuish@eastdevon.gov.uk

(or group number 01395 517546) Thursday, 25 April 2024

1 Election of Chair of the Council for the ensuing year

The Chair will ask for nominations for the Office of Chair of the Council for the ensuing Civic Year. (The Chair, if nominated, may not vote on his/her own election).

2 Appointment of Vice Chair of the Council for the ensuing year

The Chair will ask for nominations for the appointment of the Vice-Chair of the Council for the ensuing year.

- 3 Apologies
- 4 Minutes of the previous Council meeting (Pages 4 37)
- 5 Declarations of interest

Guidance is available online to Councillors and co-opted members on making declarations of interest

- 6 Public Speaking Information on <u>public speaking</u> is available online
- 7 Matters of urgency

Information on matters of urgency is available online

- 8 Announcements from the Chair of Council
- 9 Confidential/exempt item(s)

To agree any items to be dealt with after the public (including the Press) have been excluded. There are no items which officers recommend should be dealt with in this way.

- Election of leader of the Council for the ensuing yearTo consider the election of Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.
- 11 Leader's appointment of the Deputy Leader of the Council To note the Leader of Council's appointment of the Deputy Leader of Council for the ensuing year.
- 12 Leader's appointment to Cabinet

The Leader of Council will confirm the Cabinet members to act as Portfolio Holders.

- 13 Governance Arrangements and appointments for the Civic Year 2024/2025 (Pages 38 371)
- 14 Annual Reports of the Scrutiny Committee, Overview Committee and Housing Review Board for 2023/2024 (Pages 372 - 386)
- 15 Programme of ordinary meetings of the Council, Cabinet and Committees for 2024/2025 (Pages 387 389)

Under the Openness of Local Government Bodies Regulations 2014, any members of the public are now allowed to take photographs, film and audio record the proceedings and report on all public meetings (including on social media). No prior notification is needed but it would be helpful if you could let the democratic services team know you plan to film or record so that any necessary arrangements can be made to provide reasonable facilities for you to report on meetings. This permission does not extend to private meetings or parts of meetings which are not open to the public. You should take all recording and photography equipment with you if a public meeting moves into a session which is not open to the public.

If you are recording the meeting, you are asked to act in a reasonable manner and not disrupt the conduct of meetings for example by using intrusive lighting, flash photography or asking people to repeat statements for the benefit of the recording. You may not make an oral commentary during the meeting. The Chairman has the power to control public recording and/or reporting so it does not disrupt the meeting.

Members of the public exercising their right to speak during Public Question Time will be recorded.

Decision making and equalities

For a copy of this agenda in large print, please contact the Democratic Services Team on 01395 517546